Ding! Ding! Round Ten..!

mas·sage
[muh-sahj]
– verb
1. The act or art of treating the body by rubbing, kneading, patting or the like to stimulate circulation, increase suppleness, relieve tension etc.
2. A form of legalised assault that leaves the recipient feeling like they’ve been 10 rounds with ‘Smokin’ Joe Frasier.

It’s the day after my massage and I’ve got to say I’m bushed!

The pummelling I received yesterday sure has left its mark – much more so than a run normally inflicts – which goes to show the amount of work that went I to it, I guess. I ache in places I didn’t know I had places and those few places that don’t ache feel pretty damn relaxed. My calves, again, are achy and tired, this time though thanks not to a stride session but to a huge vibrating contraption-thingy which was forcefully rolled up and down them as I lay there, face down, with the hole in the bench conveniently serving as a frame for my unavoidable grimace. I’ll never again underestimate how physically demanding a ‘simple’ massage can be!

I’ll get 3 or 4 runs in before I’m back again for another session, including Sunday’s race, so I’m looking forward to a more thorough manipulation next time given that the investigatory work is already established.

I really missed my 10 mile run tonight. It feels counter-intuitive to rest when, with 9 weeks to go, a big part of me feels that I should be packing in the miles. I do take some comfort in the fact that my 1-day respite is self-driven an not imposed on me due to injury. In a kinda one-step-backwards-two-steps-forward way, having this massage snd resting now is the right move. It would not have been right to have run tonight with the ache I have. Much better to recover and hit the next run ready and raring for action.

Day off work tomorrow = no need to get up at 06:30, therefore extra sleep. A rate treat!

Time to take this aching body off to bed 🙂

20120217-002818.jpg

Leave a Reply

